Debra’s Blog


Del.icio.us usefulness

Posted in Weekly (or more often) blogging by devra29 on September 28, 2007

I had several responses to my earlier del.icio.us post. So far I like del.icio.us, but I’m still struggling with whether or not it is a really useful too. I have used it to mark sites to look at in the future, researched topics for class and for personal use, and started tagging Pinon Canyon articles trying to bring more attention to the proposed land grab.

I found one site (didn’t tag it so now of course I can’t find it) on how non-profits are using del.icio.us to set up “collective tags” to organize information. If anyone finds it, please let me know – I’m still looking.

I did find this site http://www.lifehack.org/articles/technology/top-10-ways-to-use-delicious.html that explains how to better use del.icio.us. If you read through the comments, there are even some suggestions on different uses. This blog entry suggests that del.icio.us helps us find good resources (or the best resources) on the Internet more easily by cutting down on the amount of junk we have to go through.

So far I haven’t decided how useful it is, and am still looking for more information on uses for it.

10 Responses to 'Del.icio.us usefulness'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Del.icio.us usefulness'.

  1. Betsy said,

    Hi Debra:

    Del.icio.us is a great tool for those of us who are charged with staying current specific fields. I use del.icio.us to keep track of relevant sites, obscure resources, random ideas, etc. However, your del.icio.us account is only as valuable as the resouces you have taged.

    If you haven’t already, I’d suggest dragging the “post to del.icio.us” and “my del.icio.us” buttons to your toolbar. It makes it much easier to add entries.

    Looking forward to hearing more about your use of del.icio.us!

    Betsy

  2. ayrolyn said,

    Hi There!

    I’m using it with my independent study kids, were going to tag photographic sites. They are also using a blog to post and comment on 5 photographs a week. I’m hoping that this will be a worthwhile use of technology, a boon to increase their writing skills and a place to prove that they are looking at other photographer’s work.

    Have fun with the bookmarks!

  3. Kirsten said,

    Debra – the best use I can come up with for del.icio.us is a storage repository for my bookmarks that my IT department can’t inadvertently delete every time I get a new computer or have problems with my hard drive!

    Thanks for the article! The tip re: GoogleReader + del.icio.us looks worthwhile.
    K

  4. devra29 said,

    Kirsten – I’m also using del.icio.us to keep my bookmarked sites in a safe place. It’s really nice to be able to access this from any computer.

    I use firefox as my main browser – when I do websites, I view them in FF first because it tends to have the most problems. I didn’t like it at first, but now I prefer it over IE. Anyway, the FF add on for adding the del.icio.us icon in my tool bar is great! I highly recommend it.

  5. Carolyn said,

    Debra, thanks for the link. I found it very informative and helpful.

    Carolyn

  6. Chris Z said,

    Much like so many other widgets and it seems that del.icio.us is just another tool to help us organize the massive amount of information on the internet.

    Thanks for the link, this really helped me better understand how I can use del.icio.us in the future.

  7. rmacioce said,

    I think of del.icio.us like this. Think of life before the internet when you files of papers resources etc. As much stuff as I would collect I was always very good about going through it every once in a while to clean it out. (I consider myself a minimalist). Now I use del.icio.us to bookmark anything and everything (just in case) and then maybe every few months clean spend 20 minutes cleaning it out. I know there is not a storage issue but I function better if my life is simpler.

  8. brentgwilson said,

    It’s the social side where I get most of the value. Seeing what other people like, what they link to. Looking at someone’s links whom I respect or admire. “I am what I link to.” If that’s true, then we can learn from others by seeing what they value in their links!

  9. Paul Silli said,

    Del… works great as a bookmark. For me, it has served no other purpose then to store my favorite sites. Please let me know if I am missing something about its service. Maybe there’s more to meet the eye. Let me know. Thanks.

  10. devra29 said,

    Paul, trying using del to research a topic. I use it to research topics for personal use and do quick searches to start research projects. Also take a look at Brent’s posting about looking at what other people are tagging. I’m still reading about del and learning about other uses.
    Debra


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

